Board of Directors

IU Foundation Board of Directors:
What We Do

The IU Foundation Board of Directors works to steward and support Indiana University’s fundraising goals while serving as the legal governing body for the IU Foundation.

These experienced leaders dedicate their time and talents to secure a strong future for Indiana University. Our board members come from a variety of backgrounds, with one common thread: sincere dedication to the success of Indiana University.

These remarkable individuals ensure the IU Foundation delivers on the promise of an affordable, world-class education at Indiana University.

The Board of Directors in Action

Collectively, past and present IU Foundation board members have given more than $409 million to IU, making them some of our most generous donors. They also travel three times each year—at their own expense—to attend board meetings, providing governance oversight and input into how the IU Foundation can best achieve its mission of advancing Indiana University’s best interests.

Members of the Board of Directors

Gary J. Anderson
Managing Director Emeritus
TL Ventures
Nashville, IN

Aasif M. Bade
Ambrose Property Group, LLC
Indianapolis, IN

MaryEllen Bishop
Carmel, IN

Kathryn R. Booth
Harrison, NY

Bill C. Brown
Bill C. Brown Associates
Bloomington, IN

William Q. Buckner
Pacers Sports and Entertainment
Indianapolis, IN

Derrick Burks
Zionsville, Indiana

Gayle K. Cook
Cook Group, Inc.
Bloomington, IN

Julie A. Davis
Indianapolis, IN

Clarence H. Doninger
Doninger Tuohy & Bailey, LLP
Indianapolis, IN

David G. Elmore
Elmore Group Ltd.
Manhattan Beach, CA

David C. Evans
Sherwood Forrest, Maryland

Jeff M. Fettig
Chairman & CEO
Whirlpool Corporation
Benton Harbor, MI

Curtis A. Ferguson
Coca-Cola Middle East & North Africa
Atlanta, GA

James D. Fielding
Los Angeles, CA

Ellen C. Gignilliat
Chicago, IL

Alan Gilman
Bloomington, IN

Harry L. Gonso
Ice Miller LLP
Indianapolis, IN

Alan B. Graf
Executive Vice President & CFO
FedEx Corporation
Memphis, TN

Ann L. Harrison
Attica, IN

Alisa Hendrix
Bloomington, IN

James R. Hodge
President and Chief Investment Officer
Permal Group, Inc.
New York, NY

Jay B. Hunt
San Francisco, CA

V. William Hunt
Hunt Capital Partners
Indianapolis, IN

Julie Inskeep
The Journal Gazette
Fort Wayne, IN

David H. Jacobs Jr.
Owner, Stilllife Construction
President, David Jacobs Fine Arts
Santa Monica, CA

Lacy M. Johnson
Ice Miller, LLP
Indianapolis, IN

Rick L. Johnson
Johnson Ventures, Inc.
Columbus, IN

Louis G. Jordan
Tympany Vineyards
Healdsburg, CA

Jane Jorgensen
Syracuse, IN

Sandra E. Laney
Chairman and CEO
CADRE Computer Resources Co.
Cincinnati, OH

Dale Ellen Leff
New York, NY

Kathleen A. Ligocki
Harvest Power
Waltham, MA

Rose C. Mays
Professor Emeritus
Indiana University School of Nursing
Indianapolis, IN

Robert H. McKinney
Marshall & Ilsley Corporation
Indianapolis, IN

Michael A. McRobbie
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

Michael J. Mirro
SVP Chief Academic Research Officer
Parkview Health Research Department
Fort Wayne, IN

Joseph T. Morrow
Chairman Emeritus
Home State Bank
Schererville, IN

John Timothy “Tim” Morris
Greenwich, Connecticut

N.E. “Ned” Pfau Jr.
President and CEO
Geo. Pfau’s Sons Company, Inc.
Jeffersonville, IN
Kim I. Pressman
Saddle River, NJ
James Robert (Rob) Quigg III
Richmond Baking Company
Richmond, IN
Lynn E. Reichle
Lynn E. Gassoway, DDS
Valparaiso, IN
Scott C. Schurz
Hoosier Times, Inc.
Bloomington, IN
Glenn Scolnik
Hammond, Kennedy, Whitney & Company, Inc.
Indianapolis, IN
Richard C. Searles
Merrill Lynch
Indianapolis, IN
Randolph L. Seger
Bingham Greenebaum Doll, LLP
Indianapolis, IN
Patrick A. Shoulders
Ziemer Stayman Weitzel and Shoulders, LLP
Evansville, IN
Cynthia Simon Skjodt
Carmel, IN
Daniel C. Smith
President Emeritus
Indiana University Foundation
Kelley School of Business faculty member
Bloomington, IN
Milton R. Stewart
Warrenton, OR
Stephen A. Stitle
Managing Partner - Indiana Operations
SmithAmundsen, LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Gregg T. Summerville
Tecumseh Capital Partners, LLC
Columbus, IN

Linda S. Watson
Chicago, Illinois

W. Michael Wells
Hylant of Indianapolis, LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Richard E. Woosnam
Innovest Group, Inc.
Philadelphia, PA
Robert L. Zerbe
Chief Executive Officer
Quatrx Pharmaceuticals
Richmond Hill, GA
Ex-Officio Board Member
JT. Forbes
Interim President and CEO
Indiana University Foundation
Executive Director, IU Alumni Association
Bloomington, IN

Emeritus Directors

Elected by their peers, emeritus directors are board members who no longer actively participate in board activities.

S. Sue Aramian
New York, NY

Glenn L. Banks
Sarasota, FL

Clarence W. Boone Sr., M.D.
Gary, IN

Robert A. Borns
Chairman of the Board
Borns Management Corporation
Indianapolis, IN

William P. Carmichael
Naples, FL

Alecia A. DeCoudreaux
Mills College
Oakland, CA

Thomas Ehrlich
President Emeritus
Indiana University
Palo Alto, CA

Ezra H. “Zeke” Friedlander
Retired Judge
Indiana Court of Appeals
Indianapolis, IN

Jack M. Gill
The Gill Foundation of Texas
Houston, TX

Moses W. Gray
Indianapolis, IN

Steven H. Henke
Henke Development Group
Carmel, IN

Adam W. Herbert, Jr.
President Emeritus
Indiana University
Jacksonville, FL

Charles E. Lanham
Oberoi Partners
Indianapolis, IN

Robert W. Lanum
Of Counsel
Stites & Harbison, PLLC
Jeffersonville, IN

P.A. Mack Jr.
Owner Manager
Mack Farms
Bloomington, IN

Jane H. Martin
Haverway Farm
Bloomington, IN

Phyllis E. McCullough
Chairwoman of the Board
Cook, Inc.
Bloomington, IN

Patricia R. Miller
Vera Bradley Designs
Fort Wayne, IN

Randall C. Morgan Jr., M.D.
University Park Orthopedics
University Park, Florida

James T. Morris
Pacers Sports & Entertainment
Indianapolis, IN

Georgette Mosbacher
New York, NY

John D. Peterson Jr.
Chairman and CEO
City Securities Corporation
Zionsville, IN

Frank P. Popoff
Popoff Limited Partners
Midland, MI

Ernestine M. Raclin
Chairman Emeritus
First Source Corporation
South Bend, IN

J. Fred Risk
Retired Chairman
Sovereign Group
Indianapolis, IN

Jill S. Ruckelshaus
Medina, WA

Thomas D. Rush
Managing Partner
Rush Investments
Indianapolis, IN

John C. Shoemaker
Los Altos, CA

Michael D. Shumate
San Diego, CA

Curtis R. Simic
President Emeritus
Indiana University Foundation
Bloomington, IN

James G. Sinclair
Index Notion Company, Inc.
Carmel, IN

Stephen R. Springer
Syracuse, IN

Eugene R. Tempel
Founding Dean
IU Lilly Family School of Philanthropy
President Emeritus
Indiana University Foundation
Indianapolis, IN

Marianne W. Tobias
Program Annotator
Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
Indianapolis, IN

Randall L. Tobias
Tobias Family Office
Carmel, IN

John D. Walda
President and CEO
NACUBO (National Association of College and University Business Officers)
Washington, DC

Margaret R. Watanabe
Clinical Assistant Professor, Emerita Obstetrics and Gynecology
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN

Desmond C. Wong
President and CEO
Sino Strategies Group, LLC
Northbrook, IL